Top Stories

Sollie Norwood sworn in to Senate District 28 seat

By Laura Tillman

Associated Press

Democrat Sollie Norwood was sworn in Monday, March 4, 2013 as the newest member of the Mississippi Senate. Norwood, 60, is a former member of the Jackson School Board.

He defeated former Jackson city councilman Marshand Crisler in a special election runoff to represent Senate District 28, which is entirely in Hinds County…. […]

Top Stories

From nine to two…

Crisler vs Norwood in the home stretch of Senate District 28 race

By Othor Cain

Contributing writer

Vying to fill the unexpired term of the late Senator Alice Harden, Marshand Crisler and Sollie Norwood faced off at New Horizon Church International Monday, Feb 18, to a small crowd of supporters and interested voters.

With three years left on a four-year term, nearly 60,000 voters in portions of West and South Jackson will decide who will represent District 28 when they go back to the polls Tuesday, Feb. 26, for a runoff election…. […]

Top Stories

State Senate District 28 run-off Feb. 26

City mayoral and council seat candidates lining up

By Ayesha K. Mustafaa


Marshand Crisler and Sollie B. Norwood will be the two run-off candidates for State Senate District 28, Tuesday, Feb. 26, 2013. Crisler received 25 percent of 2,789 votes cast, with Norwood receiving 22.5 percent of the votes…. […]


Senate 28 race unsettled; run-off scheduled

By Daphne Higgins

Contributing Writer

With 100 percent of the precincts reporting, two of the nine candidates in the race for the Senate District 28 seat will be returning to the polls on Tuesday, Feb. 26, 2013, in a run-off election to declare a winner for the position left vacant by the death of Senator Alice Harden.

Unofficial results show that Marshand Crisler edged out opponents, Sollie B. Norwood and Tamara Grace Butler, by a close margin to lead the trio in the special election poll results Feb. 5, 2013…. […]


9 enter senate race to succeed Harden

Nine candidates are running for a state Senate seat in part of Hinds County. They’re competing to succeed Democrat Alice Harden, who died in December.

The special election is Feb. 5, with a runoff Feb. 26.

The candidates are Cindy Ayers-Elliot, Tamarra Grace Butler, Marshand Crisler, Sollie B. Norwood, Antonio Porter, James “Jimmy” Stewart, Kathy L. Sykes, Tommy L. Wallace II and Cassandra Welchlin. […]