Ole Miss’ Tunsil, LSU’s Fournette earn spots on AP All-Bowl Team

Ole Miss' Laremy Tunsil was the only player from a Mississippi school to earn a spot on the Associated Press All-Bowl Team. File photo/AL.com
Ole Miss' Laremy Tunsil was the only player from a Mississippi school to earn a spot on the Associated Press All-Bowl Team. File photo/AL.com
Ole Miss’ Laremy Tunsil was the only player from a Mississippi school to earn a spot on the Associated Press All-Bowl Team.
File photo/AL.com

(AP) Now that all the postseason games with “bowl” in the title have been played, it’s time to reveal the Associated Press 2015 All-Bowl Team.

There were enough standout performances that we decided to cheat a little on our team. That’s why you’ll see 12 men on our defense and 14 players on our offense, including two tight ends from the same school.



Bram Kohlhausen, TCU: After the arrest and suspension of usual starter Trevone Boykin, Kohlhausen picked up the slack and rallied No. 11 TCU from a 31-0 deficit in a 47-41, triple-overtime Alamo Bowl victory over No. 15 Oregon. Kohlhausen passed for 351 yards and accounted for four touchdowns.

Running back

Leonard Fournette, LSU: Rushed for 212 yards and scored five touchdowns in the 22nd-ranked Tigers’ 56-27 Texas Bowl triumph over Texas Tech. Fournette had four touchdown runs and also scored on a 44-yard reception.

Johnny Jefferson, Baylor: Ran for 299 yards in No. 18 Baylor’s 49-38 Russell Athletic Bowl victory over No. 10 North Carolina. He rushed for three touchdowns and also went 1 of 3 for 24 yards passing.

Wide receiver

Isaiah Ford, Virginia Tech: Caught 12 passes for 227 yards and a touchdown in Virginia Tech’s 55-52 Independence Bowl victory over Tulsa.

Jakeem Grant, Texas Tech: Had 10 catches for 125 yards and three touchdowns in the Red Raiders’ Texas Bowl loss to LSU.

Calvin Ridley, Alabama: Caught eight passes for 138 yards and two touchdowns in No. 2 Alabama’s 38-0 Cotton Bowl blowout of No. 3 Michigan State.

Tight end

Hunter Henry and Jeremy Sprinkle, Arkansas: Both played major roles in Arkansas’ 45-23 Liberty Bowl victory over Kansas State. Sprinkle had four receptions for 81 yards and a touchdown. Henry had five catches for 92 yards. Henry’s 43-yard gain on a third-and-13 play set up the game-clinching touchdown.


Pat Elflein, Ohio State: Both Elflein and teammate Taylor Decker led a line that helped No. 7 Ohio State gain 496 yards in a 44-28 Fiesta Bowl win over No. 8 Notre Dame. Elflein’s interior blocking at right guard helped pave the way for Ezekiel Elliott’s 149-yard rushing performance.

Eric MacLain, Clemson: Graded out the highest of Clemson’s offensive linemen as the top-ranked Tigers rushed for 312 yards in a 37-17 Orange Bowl victory over No. 4 Oklahoma.

Storm Norton, Toledo: Anchored a line that didn’t give up a single sack in a 32-17 Boca Raton Bowl victory over No. 24 Temple, which entered the game with 33 sacks. That represented a showcase performance for a Toledo line that allowed only four sacks all year.

John Theus, Georgia: Blocked Penn State’s Carl Nassib and held the FBS sack leader without a single tackle in Georgia’s 24-17 TaxSlayer Bowl victory over Penn State.

Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss: Led a line that helped No. 16 Ole Miss gain 554 total yards in a 48-20 Sugar Bowl triumph over No. 13 Oklahoma State. He also scored on a 2-yard run.


Christian McCaffrey, Stanford: Set a Rose Bowl record with 368 all-purpose yards in No. 5 Stanford’s 45-16 win over No. 6 Iowa. He rushed for 172 yards on 18 carries and caught four passes for 105 yards, including a 75-yard touchdown. He also scored on a 63-yard punt return.



Derek Barnett, Tennessee: Made eight tackles, recorded his 10th sack of the season and forced a fumble in Tennessee’s 45-6 Outback Bowl blowout of No. 12 Northwestern.

Kenny Clark, UCLA: Had a game-high 11 stops in a 37-29 Foster Farms Bowl loss to Nebraska. He had two tackles for loss and one sack.

Kyle Kelley, San Diego State: Recorded 3 ½ sacks and nine tackles in a 42-7 Hawaii Bowl rout of Cincinnati.

Aziz Shittu, Stanford: Made 10 tackles – 3 ½ for loss – and delivered 1 ½ sacks in Stanford’s Rose Bowl thrashing of Iowa.


Jack Cichy, Wisconsin: Missed the first half of the Holiday Bowl as punishment for a targeting penalty in Wisconsin’s regular-season finale but still had nine tackles and three sacks in the 23rd-ranked Badgers’ 23-21 victory over Southern California.

Kamalei Correa, Boise State: Recorded two sacks and forced a fumble for a Boise State defense that allowed just 33 total yards in a 55-7 Poinsettia Bowl blowout of Northern Illinois.

Devonte Fields, Louisville: Recorded eight tackles, delivered three sacks and broke up two passes in Louisville’s 27-21 Music City Bowl win over Texas A&M.

Scooby Wright, Arizona: After injuries limited him to just two regular-season games, Wright came back and had 15 tackles – 3 ½ for loss – and two sacks as the Wildcats beat New Mexico 45-37 in the New Mexico Bowl.


Brendon Clements, Navy: Had two interceptions and also broke up a pass in No. 21 Navy’s 44-28 Military Bowl victory over Pittsburgh.

Caleb Williams, Georgia Southern: Broke up five passes in Georgia Southern’s 58-27 GoDaddy Bowl victory over Bowling Green. Matt Johnson, one of the nation’s most prolific passers, was 15 of 34 for 246 yards against Georgia Southern.


Tevin Carter, Utah: Picked off two passes and returned one of them for a 28-yard touchdown in a 35-28 Las Vegas Bowl triumph over BYU.

Trevon Stewart, Houston: Recorded two interceptions and recovered a fumble as No. 14 Houston upset No. 9 Florida State 38-24 in the Peach Bowl.



Ross Martin, Duke: Was 3 of 3 on field-goal attempts with kicks of 52, 34 and 36 yards in a 44-41 Pinstripe Bowl triumph over Indiana. His 36-yarder in overtime provided the winning margin.


Tom Hackett, Utah: Averaged 49.5 yards per punt in the Las Vegas Bowl and landed four of his six punts inside BYU’s 20-yard line, with two ending up inside the 5. He also gave Utah a first down with a 21-yard run on a fake punt.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.