$100 the max Mississippi can charge for concealed gun permit; $6 photo fee dropped

JACKSON, Mississippi (AP) — The Mississippi Department of Public Safety on Monday dropped the $6 photo fee it tacked onto the charge for a concealed-carry gun permit starting July 1, and it’s working to refund the money to anyone who has already paid it, spokesman Warren Strain said.

Strain told The Associated Press that the photo fee was dropped in response to an attorney general’s legal opinion that says state law sets the price of a concealed-carry permit at $100, plus an amount to be paid by the applicant for a fingerprint and background check. DPS has set the fingerprint and background check fee at $32… […]