$100 the max Mississippi can charge for concealed gun permit; $6 photo fee dropped

JACKSON, Mississippi (AP) — The Mississippi Department of Public Safety on Monday dropped the $6 photo fee it tacked onto the charge for a concealed-carry gun permit starting July 1, and it’s working to refund the money to anyone who has already paid it, spokesman Warren Strain said.

Strain told The Associated Press that the photo fee was dropped in response to an attorney general’s legal opinion that says state law sets the price of a concealed-carry permit at $100, plus an amount to be paid by the applicant for a fingerprint and background check. DPS has set the fingerprint and background check fee at $32… […]

Top Stories

Brandon Middle School teacher suspended

A Brandon Middle School teacher is on suspension after what school district officials are referring to as a “disciplinary issue.”

Angela Smith told The Clarion-Ledger her eighth grade son was shoved on March 19 by information and communication technology teacher Terry Williams after he was caught tossing a piece of candy across the room.

Smith said Williams told her son to go to the principal’s office. She said her son stopped at the water fountain on the way to the principal’s office, and the teacher came out and started yelling at him. The teacher then grabbed him by the shirt and bumped him with his chest. […]