Mississippi’s Engram wins Conerly Trophy

Evan Engram
Evan Engram
Evan Engram

CLARKSDALE, Miss. (AP) – Mississippi tight end Evan Engram won the Conerly Trophy on Tuesday night.

The 6-foot-3, 235-pound senior is currently second in the Southeastern Conference with 926 yards receiving. He caught 65 passes, including eight for touchdowns. The Conerly Trophy, which is sponsored by C Spire Wireless, is given annually to Mississippi’s top college football player.

Engram beat out a group of three other finalists, including Mississippi State receiver Fred Ross, Southern Miss running back Ito Smith and Jackson State defensive lineman Javancy Jones.

Ross caught and an SEC-leading 12 touchdowns. Smith led the Golden Eagles with 1,321 yards rushing and 15 touchdowns. Jones led Jackson State with 82 tackles, including 19½ for a loss.

The Conerly has been awarded since 1996. Mississippi State quarterback Dak Prescott won the previous two seasons.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.