39 JSU Tigers named Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports scholars


Mississippi Link Newswire

Thirty-nine Jackson State University student-athletes from 10 sports have been honored as 2016 Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars, which recognizes those who have achieved high standards of scholarship, athleticism and humanitarianism. These students were recognized from a pool of more than 600 student-athletes who were nominated by their institution.

Each year Diverse: Issues in Higher Education magazine honors students of color who have made achieving both academically and athletically a winning combination.

In order to qualify, students must have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.2 or higher through the fall of 2015, completed one full academic year at the nominating institution, be enrolled for the fall term of the academic year being nominated, be an active member of an intercollegiate athletic team during the 2015-16 year and have a record of campus of community service.

Fifteen JSU student-athletes were first-team selections: Bridget Robinson, Laura Uzell, Brandy Terrell, Tatyana Givens, Victoria Nelson, Canessa Swanson, D’Andrea Eashmond, Cliffaniqua Towbridge, Mark Watson, Ronza Anderson, Vincent Hunter, Ja’rius Moore, James Reede, Ryan Swanier and Keiven Russey.

Arthur Ashe Jr. was a top ranked tennis player in the 1960s and 70s and was the first African-American male tennis player to win a Grand Slam Tournament. His commitment to athletics, social justice, health and humanitarian issues left a mark on the world as indelible as his tennis was on the court.

The Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars Award was initiated in 1992 as a way of celebrating college students who demonstrated the quest of excellence envisioned by the late tennis player and activist Arthur Ashe Jr.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.