Jackson all about music

T. Lewis, Urban DJ of the Year

Mississippi Gospel Awards and Jackson Music Awards grace the weekend

By Stephanie R. Jones

Contributing Writer

T. Lewis, Urban DJ of the Year
T. Lewis, Urban DJ of the Year
Jesse Thompson, Stephanie Jones, David Curry
Jesse Thompson, Stephanie Jones, David Curry

The past weekend in Jackson was all about music with the Mississippi Gospel Music Awards on Sunday, July 12 and the 41st annual Jackson Music Awards on Monday, July 13. Names that are synonymous with Mississippi music and others from around the region were on hand for the events.

It was actually a three-day event collectively, titled “A Celebration of Soul,” starting on Saturday, July 11 with the City of Soul Awards at the Metrocenter Mall. Sunday and Monday programs were held at the Marriott Hotel in downtown Jackson.

On the Gospel side: The Williams Brothers, Jackson Southernaires, Bishop Neal Roberson and national recording artist Paul Porter, who brought the hall of more than 500 people to their feet with his signature song “Two Wings.”

Roberson entertained the crowd with a comic routine as well as singing.

Among performers were the group Virtue, comprised of Louisiana born sisters Heather Martin, Karima Kibble and Ebony Holland. They said it was their first award as a group.

The Roy Wooten Award, named for the Malaco Records affiliate, went to Keith Brown. Atlanta-based vocalist Porter and Bishop Roberson headlined the event.

David Curry accepted the award for Best Engineered Recording, presented to the Mississippi Mass Choir for the “Declaration of Dependence.”

Lee King, Jackson Music Awards
Lee King, Jackson Music Awards

On the Soul/Blues side, award winners were Compositionz as the R&B group of the year and Faze 4 as the Pop Group of the year.

“Mr. Sipp” took home two awards: National Male Vocalist of the Year and Blues Artist of the Year.

Gary Champion was awarded best National Blues Artist of the Year, while Ms. Jody was named National Female Vocalist of the Year.

J.J. Thames was named local Female Vocalist of the Year for the second year in a row. Male Vocalist of the Year was Kerry Thomas.

New Orleans-based Urban Mystic was named National Male Vocalist of the Year and performed a song from an upcoming album, among others.

Urban Mystic said it was a great experience to be honored. “It encourages me to keep doing what I do and for keeping soul music alive,” he said.

The King Mose award went to Tommy Marshall. T Lewis of WRBJ-FM 97.9 was named Urban Disc Jockey of the Year.

Alexis Neely served as Jackson Miss Hospitality for the gospel event.

Jackson Music Awards Inc. is headed by Jesse Thompson, president and founder, and Lee King, vice president.

For a complete list of Music Award winners go to http://www.jmaainc.com/.

Stephanie R. Jones can be reached at srjones13@gmail.com or (601) 454-0372.