4 incumbents out in south Mississippi

May 9, 2013 in News, Statewide News

Aneice Liddell (pictured) current mayor of "The River City" Moss Point, lost her seat to State Re. Billy Bloomfield in Tuesday's election. (Photo courtesy of City of Moss Point)

PASCAGOULA – (AP) Four incumbent south Mississippi mayors have lost their re-election bids.

WLOX reports that Gautier Mayor Tommy Fortenberry lost his Republican primary to Gordon Gollott. Gollott faces independent Edward Harding in the general election.

Mayor Jerry Alexander lost in Wiggins; Joel Miles won the GOP nomination there.

Diamondhead Mayor Chuck Ingraham lost the Republican primary to Thomas Schafer IV. Schafer now faces independent John Fletcher.

State Rep. Billy Broomfield beat incumbent Aneice Liddell in Moss Point. The Democrat faces independent candidates Dobbs Dennis and John Moseley Jr. in June.

Jim Blevins, won the GOP primary in Pascagoula, and will be that city’s next mayor.

Incumbents also won primaries in Bay St. Louis, Biloxi and Poplarville.